The Secret Life of the American Teenager

I’ve made a promise to myself that I would never, ever, ever watch the TV show that knocked Kyle XY from its time slot, but I happened upon The Secret Life of the American Teenager by accident. I mean it, honest! One thing just led to another and then, before I knew it, I was paying the cashier lady!

I was the proud owner of The Secret Life of the American Teenager, Season 1.

Anyway, after watching the pilot episode, I was hooked. I mean, a fifteen year old girl getting pregnant from a one night stand in band camp? It’s so unlikely it’s believable (in the, you know, soap opera kind of way). And I sort of sympathized for Amy, even though her “woe is me” acting does get kinda annoying. She tries so hard to be responsible, but she slips up and behaves so much like the irresponsible, naïve teenager… I feel for her, you know?

I’m now into the twentieth episode (where Amy finally gets a job, and Ben and Ricky get a job, too — about time), and I’m kinda wondering how all these teenagers get to have a dramatic life. They make mistakes and try to fix and handle them, but I just can’t help but ask the TV screen what the heck are they thinking? Maybe I’m just set in my ways, but I can’t help seeing a way to fix things that could avoid all the drama… but then again, that would mean no TV show.

Hey, I’m not complaining (much).

Well, I’m looking forward for the next season, so I’m eager to go to the shop and buy it. I’m even restraining myself from checking out Secret Life‘s Wikipedia page so that I won’t get any spoilers. Of course, I checked anyway. But, I made sure to just look at the various actors and actresses and guess what? My hunch was right! They were older than what they’re supposed to be, especially in Jack’s case.

Care to share your thoughts?