The Wonders of Escapism

es·cap·ism/iˈskāpizəm/

Noun:
The tendency to seek distraction and relief from unpleasant realities, esp. by seeking entertainment or engaging in fantasy.

I don’t know about anyone else but when I was a kid, school was completely separate from my personal interests: in school I learned my ABCs and arithmetic, while at home I watched television and read all the books I wanted. Growing up, those interests became a big part of my life and, as most of you know, the teenage years is the time when you question who you are as a person.

Essentially, you’re finding an identity that is wholly yours. I haven’t found mine yet (I think), but safe to say I understand where my interests lie. And it’s quite astounding, to think about it, that I can mesh my interests in Doctor Who or Harry Potter with my lessons. Because of this, I can’t view these interests as only entertainment anymore… I’ve read journals and articles about the technicalities of the show, the intricacies of character developments and their effects on its audience.

Quite frankly, it’s terrifying.

I liked having school-life and personal-life separate. It provided some sort of structure for me. But then, I came across the term ‘escapism’ and it shattered my understanding of things. I went, so this is why I like so-and-so a lot… it’s because it’s completely different from real-life. I understood that in some level, but the term made it even more real for me.

And it frightens me to know this facet of my personality, that I’d much rather prefer to dwell in an imaginary universe instead of real life. (What is real life, anyhow?)

I don’t know. Maybe I’ve spent too much time thinking about this. Maybe I’m just high from the chocolate crisps I’ve been munching on. I really don’t know. Still, I enjoy these imaginary worlds. Real life problems are so boring, aren’t they?

Over and out.

Care to share your thoughts?

