Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac (2010)

Despite being Asian myself, I’m not particularly into the whole ‘Asian experience’ such as the K-pop music, the eccentric fashion or the television dramas. I tried watching Hana Yori Dango a couple of months ago, but that plan went kerplunk down the I-couldn’t-be-bothered-with-this drain. I couldn’t stand the acting, which might be why I didn’t watch that much TV back when I was still in the Philippines… huh.

But whatever, Asian movies are a different matter. Though I might have only seen a few (I could count in one hand the number of Asian movies I’ve seen — that I remember — in my entire lifetime), I’d like to think that my experience with movies that are distinctively Asian are pretty good. I mean, there was Memoirs of a Geisha and Secret and 3 Idiots and… well, that’s pretty much it.

I found all these movies to be moving in one way or another, and I admire how the events happen and how the characters handled them. Suffice to say, I was surprised by the ending. They weren’t a distinctive beginning, middle and then. There were flashbacks and all that. It was a breath of fresh air for the Western-influences teen in me. So I suppose that’s why I decided to give Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac a chance

…and after watching the movie, I don’t know if I should be glad that I watched it or not. To be honest, it was nothing special (I thought it was because I saw that Emma Roberts was in the cast; she has a small role). Still, I found the movie to be toosuperficial. I mean, the main character Naomi’s fall and following amnesia didn’t even take first place as a plot point! Wanna know what did?

Her boyfriend. Or I should say boyfriends.

There’s her boyfriend before the fall Ace Zuckerman, who was the typical teenager. His worries revolved around his passion for the game tennis. And sex. Then there’s the moody woe-is-me boyfriend Yuji Miwa, who is really depressed because his brother died. While I can’t fault him for his behavior, I really did not understand what Naomi sees in him. From the outside perspective, I could totally see that he was not ready for her. Yes, there was the passion and the affection and the spark of chemistry was there. But emotions-wise? He needed to sort himself out first. It was bittersweet when they eventually broke up, though.

Lastly there’s Mirai Hazegawa, who has been in the friend zone for quite some time I presume. He’s been patient with Naomi and he could be really considerate if he wanted to be. However, there was this vibe that I felt from him… that he was being too selfish or something, which is really unfair of me to say because had been nothing but the typical best friend throughout the movie. Anyway, I stand by my opinion that while he and Naomi have history and friends and could be a really good couple, I didn’t see any passion. But whatever. The best friend gets the girl in the end, doesn’t he?

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac may have ended the lucky string of good Asian movies that I had going on, but I’ve not lost hope. I enjoyed watching it and I suppose I could go back to it again if I feel like it. I’m not gonna shun it like I shun The Last Airbender *shudder* The movie was meant to be a coming of age drama, but I really had not sympathy for Naomi. Sorry. I don’t want to be un-nice but that’s just the way I feel.

Over and out.

4 thoughts on “Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac (2010)

      • His name is Tegoshi Yuya.. And he’s a pretty boy.. If you’re interested he had another drama Yamato Nadeshiko Sichi Henge. You’ll love him there.. :)

        Btw, he sings! He has a group called NEWS.. :)

        • Wow, thanks for the recs! I’ll check out NEWS when I have time, but I just quickly Googled ‘Yamato Nadeshiko Sichi Henge’ and it turns out I’ve seen the anime! I know it as The Wallflower, so maybe that’s why I didn’t understand immediately. I really liked the anime, so I suppose I can check out the live action drama soon ^_^

Care to share your thoughts?

