Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

To be completely honest, I never really planned to read any of the Brontë sisters’ work after Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. Yeah, I know, shame on me.

A friend of mine introduced me to the movie of the former (we just talked about it, and I haven’t really seen the movie yet), and as for the latter, it was because of Twilight that I began reading it. When I showed up in school with that book in hand, I had to explain countless of times that “I really wanted to figure what the fuss was all about.” I mean, why does Bella like the book so much and Edward doesn’t? But I digress…

Agnes Grey is a, first and foremost, a retelling of Agnes’ days as a governess. Now that might sound just like Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre, but let me tell you it’s not. Both wonderful in their own right, the two books cannot be more different with their portrayal of the daily life of a governess.

To be honest, I found Agnes Grey a little boring — I’ve got nothing against it, except that Agnes dragged on and on about her religious views. I suppose that’s indirect characterization; Agnes is a fervent Christian. That’s all well and good, but there were too many times (for me, anyway) that Agnes went off in a tangent about religious ethics while all I want was for her to fall in love already!

I’m sorry. I’m a teenage girl. I’m not the sappy, lovey-dovey kind of girl, but I WANT to get to the part of the story where the boy likes girl, and the girl likes boy in return. That happens eventually in Agnes Grey, though not until past halfway through the book. Still, Agnes’ Mr. Weston is a very admirable man, and by the tone of the book, it’s understandable why the two lovers didn’t get together until they did. It’s just not in their personality to come running into each other’s arms in slow motion at the beach… though there was a beach scene near the end, and that slightly gruff but still romantic proposal at sunset.

*Sigh* What can I say? I love me some romance.

Agnes Grey is a worthwhile read. It might not sound like it with the way I’ve talked about it above, but it is. Believe me, it’s worth it.

2 thoughts on “Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

    • I know; it’s such a shame that it gets overshadowed by her sisters’ works. I talked to someone about Anne Bronte though, and she said that her other book ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall’ is a much better read.

Care to share your thoughts?

