June 16, 2011’s Lunar Eclipse

It was announced on the news last night that there’d be a lunar eclipse and that it’d be visible to the Philippines. I’ve never seen a lunar eclipse before and I’ve never really wanted to. What it is really, is just darkness. Yeah, the Earth blocks the sun’s rays and therefore you won’t see the moon… so what’s so cool about it? I still think a solar eclipse if much more fun.

And before you ask: no, I haven’t seen a solar eclipse either. Not in real life, at least. Movies and previews on the news, sure.

Anyway, I decided to stay up and catch the eclipse last night (not that it was much trouble, being the nocturnal owl that I am). Either there were some clouds last night or my astronomical skills are very lacking. I mean, all I did was look up at the sky and search for that celestial orb. There’s nothing else to it, right?

I didn’t see the lunar eclipse, sadly. I went out periodically to study the night sky but no, I did not see it. I got caught twice by my uncle (which is where I think I got my sleeping habits from), and once my I heard my brother’s alarm for school, I gave up on the effort and pretended to go to sleep. (I didn’t really fall asleep until about an hour later, people are so noisy during the morning… ^_^)

So my nighttime ‘adventure’ was a bust, though I suppose I had fun. I searched up the phenomenon on the Internet as soon as I could, and the pictures that I found were mind boggling. And woah, that Big Man In The Sky sure is amazing for creating something as wonderful as the moon.

image from Huffington Post

Care to share your thoughts?

