Eye in the Sky: Surrealism

Dictionary: Surrealism, n. Pure psychic automatism, by which one proposes to express, either verbally, in writing, or by any other manner, the real functioning of thought. Dictation of thought in the absence of all control exercised by reason, outside of all aesthetic and moral preoccupation.

Encyclopedia: Surrealism. Philosophy. Surrealism is based on the belief in the superior reality of certain forms of previously neglected associations, in the omnipotence of dream, in the disinterested play of thought. It tends to ruin once and for all other psychic mechanisms and to substitute itself for them in solving all the principal problems of life.

— Breton

This is my attempt of surrealism during Art class. We were supposed to do research and choose a piece of art to emulate, and I originally chose this picture:

The Treachery of Images, René Magritte

My teacher thought it was to simple for a tenth grader (there goes my night’s worth of research for the perfect painting), so I had to make do with the one below. I don’t know who made the painting, so if anyone knows, please tell me.

I dunno, but for some reason I’m really proud of my painting. I’m an not an artist, I assure you, and the most that I can do with painting is painting using words, not watercolor or acrylic. Anyway, just thought I could share my ‘masterpiece’ with the world. ^_^

3 thoughts on “Eye in the Sky: Surrealism

  1. Pingback: Fish in the Water: Blending in Oil Pastel « A Green Sky Outside

Care to share your thoughts?

