2011 MTV Movie Awards

I’ve been waiting for this moment for a long, long time (at least a week). When the day finally came, my brother woke me up from my much needed sleep, only to realize that it was just a commercial playing and not the actual Awards show. So, after having only about six hours of sleep, I dutifully kept awake until 8 o’clock came and the show aired. Through the very funny moments, the excitement and my grandmother’s reprimands to turn the volume down, I came to this conclusion:

THE MTV MOVIE AWARDS IS A POPULARITY CONTEST

I know, I know. It’s MTV. Of course it’s a popularity contest. The fans vote on who should win. I know that. Still, did Twilight have to hog *practically* all the categories. This me, a true-blue Harry Potter fan, complaining. Ranting, too. But mostly complaining.

I skipped last year’s show, so I didn’t really know what I was expecting. I was really hyped up on the days leading to June 6th, especially with that commercial of Jason Sudeikis and Daniel Radcliffe airing every other time I watch MTV. I figured, since I enjoyed watching it so much last 2009, why not give myself a good time watching this years show?

Boy, did I have a good time.

Jason, along with all the funny people, were hilarious. Though they did tell some jokes that I was uncomfortable to hear, I was out of my seat most of the time laughing my socks off.

Barring some, the speeches the winners made were very nice and thoughtful. I particularly liked Taylor Lautner for his acceptance of the Best Movie award. Shame all his co-stars had to flock up the stage as well. I get it that they’re all proud, but it looked awkward up there.

As for the actual awards themselves, I was glad that Emma Stone, the only female contender for the Best Comedic Performance, won against everybody else. I was immensely happy that Tom Felton won Best Villain, though in my opinion Malfoy’s not much a villain as he is a lost guy. Anyone would look evil if they hung out with Lord Moldishorts all the time.

I was terribly disappointed when Daniel Radcliffe did not win Best Male Performance. Or when neither did Emma not Natalie win the Best Female Performance. I felt it really unfair, because Rob’s portrayal of Edward is too much eyebrows and Kristen is barely understandable. As for the Best Fight, I felt that Chloe Moretz from Kick-Ass should have gotten it. I mean, she bit the bad guy! That’s epic, I tell ya!

I love the Twilight cast, I really do. I don’t think that, compared to the other movies, they deserved their awards, but then again Eclipse was a cool movie. I’m a Twi-hard, but I also have common sense. If Rob and Kristen didn’t behave like they did during their acceptance speeches, then perhaps I wouldn’t have been so upset that they won.

(FYI, I saw Emma looking shocked when Kristen bragged to Natalie for winning the Best Female Performance. Believe me, I was shocked too. I get that perhaps Kristen was just feeling awkward, but her joking comment was taken the wrong way.)

Oh, and as for the Best Kiss? Come on! Dan and Emma should have won that! Emma was practically attacking Dan! (Poor Ron for having to see two spirits looking like his best friends make out in front of him.)

Anyway, that’s all I have to say about the show. It went very smoothly. There were no interruptions and the music entertainment was great. I’ll be watching next year’s show if I can help it, but only if Harry Potter won everything…

…just kidding! I’ll be fair to the other movies.

(No, really. Harry Potter rules.)

Over and out.


The rest of the results, taken from the ever reliable Wikipedia:

Best Movie

The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Best Male Performace

Robert Pattinson – The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Best Female Performace

Kristen Stewart – The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Best Breakout Star

Chloë Grace Moretz – Kick-Ass

Best Villain

Tom Felton – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1

Best Comedic Performance

Emma Stone – Easy A

Best Scared-As-S**t Performance

Ellen Page – Inception

Best Kiss

Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson – The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Best Fight

Robert Pattinson vs. Bryce Dallas Howard and Xavier Samuel – The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

Best Jaw Dropping Moment

Who Knew Getting a Bieber Lap Dance Would Only Cost as Much as a Movie Ticket? – Justin Bieber (from Justin Bieber: Never Say Never)

Biggest Badass Star

Chloë Grace Moretz

Best Line From a Movie

“I want to get Chocolate Wasted!” — Alexys Nycole Sanchez (from Grown Ups)

MTV Generation Award

One thought on “2011 MTV Movie Awards

  1. Pingback: The End of an Era « A Green Sky Outside

Care to share your thoughts?

