My Anthem

I’m not a big fan of Bruno Mars. I want to get that straight, first and foremost. I know he’s part Filipino and everything, but I just don’t go out of my way to search out his music, just as I don’t with other part-Filipino artists: Nicole Scherzinger, apl.de.ap, etc. Nevertheless, I appreciate a good song when I hear it, and The Lazy Song by Bruno is one of that spoke to me. It amused me, yet there’s a hint of truth to it that I really, really like.

In fact, I like it so much that I’ve decided that it’s my personal anthem. Yes, I am aware that as a girl, I should act like a lady and be well-mannered and all that stuff… but I’m a modern gal! I don’t think women should have to spend all their time in the kitchen, cooking food and washing the dishes because frankly, that’s an archaic idea.

And I hate conformity. I wouldn’t conform into something I’m not just because the world wants me to be like that.

But back to The Lazy Song. The first verse is: “Today I don’t feel like doing anything/ I just wanna lay in my bed/ Don’t feel like picking up my phone, so leave a message at the tone/ ‘Cause today I swear I’m not doing anything.”

Don’t you feel sometimes that a song seems to be made just for you? Well, this song is for me. (Along with What I Go to School For by Busted, but that’s a different story altogether.)

Just one verse into The Lazy Song and it has already described my every day life during the summer so far. My time had been divided between my bed and the couch as I type and type and click and click on my laptop. Yeah, I don’t really do much other than go on Facebook and WordPress, that’s how much of a weirdo I am.

And that is why, ladies and gentlemen, I have chosen this song as my anthem. Not only do I find the music video fantastically funny, the music catchy and the words just wow, I feel like this song would describe me years from now! Yes,  I know myself well enough that I will never change from this lazy, ignorant teen.

I surely hope to be proven wrong. ^_^ After all, change is the only constant thing in life.

Wanna see the girl version? Check Megan Nicole’s cover of the song (it’s much cleaner, by the way):

6 thoughts on “My Anthem

  1. Pingback: #13 – A picture of your favorite band or artist « A Green Sky Outside

  2. Pingback: TODAY I DON’T FEEL LIKE DOING ANYTHING « LABEL & ♥

  3. Pingback: #17 – A picture of something that has made a huge impact on your life recently « A Green Sky Outside

  4. Pingback: “It Will Rain” by Bruno Mars | A Green Sky Outside

Care to share your thoughts?

