Nerds, Geeks, and Overachievers: It’s Official

So I was just minding my own business tonight, browsing through my various accounts in the internet and checking my email when out of nowhere, my hand clicked on one of the articles at the Yahoo! website. My hand has done this before: clicking on things I had no plan on reading. It must some sort of result from my low attention span. I might find a picture or the title interesting, but I wouldn’t be bothered at all with the article.

It took me about fifteen minutes to finally realize that I had this tab waiting for me to peruse. It was an article about a coach who gets mistaken for one of his players. Truth be told, from the look of things, that’s not hard to do. I mean, the guy’s 23.

…Del Valle [that’s his name] is already one of the youngest varsity baseball coaches in the country. Yet, as the Daily News photo above portrays all too well — the coach is the guy with the glasses, not the one grimacing on the side of the shot — Del Valle looks even younger than that. In fact, he looks so young, that his players even needed convincing that he was the guy calling the shots at their first practices of the season.

“When I first saw him I thought he was a player,” Scanlan catcher Albert Fernandez told the Daily News. “I thought he was a transfer student.”

Reading some more, I find out that he’s still in college, currently finishing his bachelor’s degree in business. He’s 5-foot-10 and weighs 167 pounds. His voice is still like a teenager’s (I’m guessing it’s still breaking or whatever). He also, and I quote:

…is known for erupting from the bench when his team does anything notable, whether good or bad.

After finishing the article, I was already crushing on the guy. It’s strange because I haven’t even met him. I’ve only seen on  picture of him and it’s of him shouting at his team. But his glasses are really cute, though.

I’m sure I’ll grow out of this “crush” tomorrow.

Speaking crushes, I can’t help but think of my current crush. He’s exactly like Del Valle in the sense that they have the same circumstance. I won’t specify in fear of him reading this. Gosh, I hope he never reads this.

But back to the topic: What is wrong with me? Why am I always attracted to nerds, geeks and overachievers? Practically all my friends like the gwapo, good-looking guys. I mean, I do as well… but for a serious attraction? No,  I have to turn to the person I can’t ever have.

Oh, the horrors of unrequited love.

One thought on “Nerds, Geeks, and Overachievers: It’s Official

  1. Pingback: Apparently, Smart is the New Sexy « A Green Sky Outside

Care to share your thoughts?

