Thor (2011)

I’m not a fan of Norse mythology, nor the Marvel comics, and just one glimpse of Thor‘s movie poster told me that it would be a boy-flick, what with epic fights and action paced battles and everything. But it was the only movie that was left in the cinema with seats available (and my younger brother certainly did not want to watch Beastly), so we bought tickets since we didn’t have any other choices.

I knew that it would be an okay film to watch, since a friend of mine tweeted that, and I quote:

…[Chris Hemsworth is the] HOTTEST MAN ON EARTH. EVEEER. I CANNOT GET OVER HIS SMILE AND HIS ABSSSSS. *fangirlrant*

But boy, was I taken by surprise just mere minutes into the film. The special effects were awesome and all throughout the movie, I was thinking to myself that we should have watched the movie in 3D. I would’ve much preferred watching Thor in 3D than Rio. (I blame my brother for that. He’s the one who chose Rio >.<)

Anyway, I really admire Thor’s plot line. I’ve only seen it once so I can’t pick on every little thing, but the most important to me was that there was no real bad guy. It’s not the usual bad guy versus good guy; it has a twist to it.

(SPOILERS!)

Loki grew up in the shadow of his brother, Thor, which I guess was why he sabotaged Thor’s near coronation at the beginning by sending in Frost Giants. Naturally, being the hero, Thor immediately thinks of marching into battle and attacking as revenge, but his father, King Odin, forbids him to do so. He goes anyway, and ends up being banished to Earth because he unintentionally started a war. All the stress with Thor’s banishment and the upcoming war was enough to send King Odin into some sort of coma, leaving Loki as king.

While Thor crash lands on Earth and falls in love, rediscovers himself and matures and all that jazz, Loki remains in Asgard. As king, he goes to the Frost Giant’s realm and strikes up a deal: he lets them through the passageway, since he has the power to do so, and in return, they kill Odin for him. That’s super bad guy-ish for him, right?

Well, here’s the twist…

It was never Loki’s intention to kill his father, even though he’s not really his father. (Loki is actually the son of the enemy; Odin just took him in accordance to his master plan to attain peace between the two realms.) When the Frost Giants are in Odin’s bedroom, mere seconds before Laufey’s about to strike, Loki kills him.

It was his plan all along to double cross the Frost Giants because this way, the war would be avoided and lives could be saved. This was Loki’s way of making his father proud. Growing up in the shadow of Thor, I suppose a guy wouldn’t mind some fatherly pride. Finding out that he was just adopted, Loki must’ve been lost and confused. Everything he knew had been turned upside down; he felt like he needed to prove himself, and I admire that. I can totally feel that.

So what if he was jealous of Thor and tried to kill him when the opportunity arose? Thor was too macho and too ‘misguided warrior turned wise hero’. It didn’t help that Chris Hemsworth’s acting just didn’t feel right for me. Of course, I’ve got to give Thor the thumbs up — though totally predictable, I had seen it coming — for sacrificing being with his love, Jane Foster, to save his realm. But then again, a relationship between a god and mortal? That’s unlikely. The chemistry between the two simply felt like infatuation to me. I felt more between Thor and Sif… sorry!

The movie was wonderful, albeit testosterone filled. It was totally predictable at times, but seriously funny — you won’t believe the laugh out loud moments I had. It’s a good thing we were sitting at the very last row in the cinema. My favorite character was Loki, obviously. My favorite line? “Sir, Xena, Jackie Chan and Robin Hood have arrived…” describing Thor’s close warrior friends.

Watch the trailer:

5 thoughts on “Thor (2011)

  1. Oh man, I had exactly the same thoughts going in. But wow, was I ever surprised! And those abs, so gorgeous :D If you loved Thor, you should definitely read Neil Gaimen’s book, American Gods. It’s about Odin in the modern age and the idea that god’s are only created because of human’s belief in them, not the other way around. So it’s all about the forgotten gods of the past and such. So awesome, you should definitely look it up!

  2. Pingback: Thor! The Almighty Eye-Catcher of the Season! « Think Scattered

  3. Pingback: Friday Standings: State of the Union | A Green Sky Outside

  4. Pingback: “Thor”: The Myth, The Comic Book, The Movie… « Radu presents: The Movie-Photo Blog

Care to share your thoughts?

