2011 Graduation/Recognition Ceremony

Last night was the Recognition Ceremony of my school and, suffice to say, I didn’t have high hopes for it apart from the fact that I got one more award than last year. I would be the very first graduation for the Senior class also, so it’s pretty special, but it didn’t do much to raise my spirits. I applaud the Seniors, really, but the ceremony was just that boring.

Of course, I can’t just say that the night was uneventful. It might’ve started that way — I mean, there was nothing noteworthy until the guest speaker appeared onstage with his humourous speech — but as the night progressed, I found myself enjoying the hour.

As with every year, I buy a dress for the occasion. This time, the dress I chose (a chic pink number, which I accessorized with a black leather belt) was wonderful and people complimented me on it. The shoes, black leather wedges, I borrowed from my grandmother. I always do that, anyway ;D

When my name was called, I got on stage and took my medal, smiled and, though I can’t remember it, I must’ve curtseyed and then traipsed off the stage. The principal jokingly asked where my long boots were (I had worn them a few days before at practice), and I understood that it was her way of gently chiding me for my outrageous fashion sense. Because really, long boots were uncommon where I come from.

Anyhow, the highlight of my night was when he noticed me and congratulated me for my awards…. At least I think it was for my awards. Everyone was just crowding around each other, shaking hands and trading smiles. It was very confusing and, for some reason, I felt like a celebrity.

The night was wonderful. I was ecstatic. I was on high from that brief conversation. And as always, my grandparents had to be the killjoys. We went home early before I even got a chance to say a proper goodbye to my friends, many of whom I won’t be seeing until the next school year.

I know, sad.

But at least I had the memory of him congratulating me. Song of the moment? Untouchable by Taylor Swift.

2 thoughts on “2011 Graduation/Recognition Ceremony

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry | A Green Sky Outside

Care to share your thoughts?

