Music, and the Emotions It Evokes


They say music is what feelings sound like, and I honestly think it’s true. I’ve been listening to Yiruma lately and please allow me to sigh in the beauty of his music, particularly Poem, which broke my heart and healed it again in the span of three minutes.

Want to hear more heartbreaking music? Listen to this:

It’s short. It’s poignant. It’s… undeniably passionate, and it makes me love Sherlock even more. And while we’re on the topic of BBC shows, here’s some lovely music that I rediscovered recently. It’s slightly out of season because I think it’s a Christmas song, but still. I listen to it as often as I can. I mean, can you hear his voice?!

 

I can just cry for Ten. Isn’t it powerful and bold and so very, very tragic? (Note to self: swallow a dictionary and/or a thesaurus before trying to describe music.)

Okay, moving on from my fandoms, here is the song I seem to be singing and dancing to lately:

I know I’ve recommended it before, but the song has stuck to me. I like it, what can I say? It’s inspirational and loud and I can listen to it while I do the dishes. Yup.

And finally, it’s not quite music… but it’s heaven on earth:

So while I’m in this music-loving mood, has anyone got any to recommend? I am seriously considering extending my tastes beyond the indie fandom songs, the ones without lyrics and the what-the-hell-is-Marty-doing kind of music. I would like to branch out to the music my peers seem to like, but I’m afraid to wander too deep into the mainstream pop music and accidentally find myself singing to Bieber’s Boyfriend”… *shiver* I’ve managed this long not listening to it, ha!

Over and out.