Efforts in Balancing


This is me making up for my admiration of the Twilight Saga. Sorry, Potterverse! *sheepish smile*

The pictures are clearly not mine, having found them in this wonderful Tumblr account. If you’re a Pothead, you better subscribe to it. And if you’re a bigger Pothead, subscribe to my account as well. It’s not officially Harry Potter related, but I reblog a lot of Potter things ;)

Breaking Dawn, Part 1 (2011)


It’s no secret that I have a love-hate relationship with the Twilight Saga. When I was younger, I was an avid fan. Years later I admit I’m still a fan, but a small part of me is ashamed because… well, it’s Twilight. Book-wise, I admire Meyer’s poetic prose but abhor the way she made her characters a different version of Mary Sue. Movie-wise, I suppose I loved each and every one when they came out, but I have to say I won’t go rushing to watch them immediately. They were full of bad acting, cringe-worthy dialogue and why on earth do they linger on the kissing scenes/shirtless men?! (Sorry, that’s the prude in me talking xD)

Anyway, I watched Breaking Dawn, Part 1 yesterday with my girls. I was tapping into the fan-girl in me and was completely hyped up and excited for some Jasper love *ahem* Bella/Edward love. If I’m to be honest with myself, I wasn’t putting much hope on the technicalities of the movie. I promised myself that I like Twilight simply for the fan-girl moments, not the ahh-mazing acting or the epic-tastic dialogue… but you know what? The second I laid eyes on that huge screen in the cinema, I was floored.

Well, not literally, but you know what I mean.

  1. First and foremost, I found Kristen Stewart‘s acting more believable. She was wide-eyes and smiling and she rarely stuttered or looked down — and I swear I only saw her mouth open a few times. (And please don’t be harsh to me, I’m a fan of KStew!)
  2. Secondly, the wedding scenes… In the words of Angela Weber all the way back in Twilight: Oh. My. God. I completely loved it! I was afraid that it would be super romantic and so cheesy (and it was in a way), but I just fell in love with — no, not Bella and Edward, but Renée and Charlie. The former was completely harebrained and the latter so dry-humoured, they were just… wow, to me.
  3. The cinematography was amazing. There were parallels with Twilight, such as the bird’s eye view of the forests and stuff, and parallels with New Moon with the gigantic statue of Christ the Redeemer. The various use of camera shots, the one that comes to mind is the boat shot when Bella and Edward were travelling to Isle Esme, definitely kept the movie interesting as well.
  4. Lastly, there was the dialogue. The entire film did not focus on the ‘woe is me, I’m in love with a vampire/in love with a human/in love with a human in love with a vampire’ crap. Because of this, I felt the characters to be more believable. Shocking, right? I mean, Rosalie was actually acting human (in the loosest sense of the word).

Of course, I can’t just shout praises for the movie. It’s wonderful and all, but it’s not perfect. (The horrible, non-Twilight fan part of me is saying “It’s still Twilight, after all… hahaha.)

  • For one thing, I can’t help but wonder that the scene after Bella and Edward’s first night together, when it is revealed to the audience the bruises Edward gave Bella, was slightly promoting abuse. Bella was all “it’s fine” and “they don’t hurt, not compared to the awesome, awesome sex we had last night”. Am I the only one who sees this?
  • And then there’s Edward wanting to abort baby Renesmee. I know it’s for the sake of the plot and everything, but WHOA. I am pro-life, so bad Eddie!
  • Then there’s also Bella’s transformation into a vampire. Could they promote perfection even more?! I mean, I’m happy with the way I am and could not ask for anything better but… even I took a hit for my self-esteem. Damn.
  • Finally, there’s the whole “I’ve imprinted on your vampire-human baby” — some say it’s pedophilia, and the argument there is that the werewolf doesn’t have to be the imprintee’s lover immediately: they could be a friend, a brother, or whatever she wants him to be. But my rebuttal to that is “isn’t that a tad incestuous if you first become her brother and then her lover?” But hey, that’s just my view on things. A plot is a plot, after all.

Overall, I found the movie riveting because if it were otherwise, I won’t still be on this Breaking Dawn high I seem to be on right now. If you’re not a Twilight fan before this movie then perhaps it’s too late for you to convert, but I strongly believe this particular movie has a chance to do so. I’m not putting my hopes up, but that’s just my opinione. Breaking Dawn, Part 1 totally surprised me… but in a good way.

By the way: is it just me or does Peter Facinelli look a bit like Tom Cruise?? o_O Oh, and was it just me or was Stephenie Meyer in the crowd of wedding guests?? Huh…