10 Things I Hate About You

Today was a really bad day and I seriously needed a pick-me-up. However, since I couldn’t find any large tubs of ice-cream in the shops on my way home from school, I figured watching a film from a decade ago ought to make me feel better.

Yeah, I’m a sucker for ‘old’ movies….

…That, and I like Julia Stiles. *grin* She was wonderful in Save the Last Dance, plus she was the girl in The Prince and Me, right??

Anyway, I watched 10 Things I Hate About You. What caught my attention was not just the catchy title, but also the fact that it’s based on one of Shakespeare’s plays, The Taming of the Shrew. And given that my experience with Shakespeare’s works include only a few sonnets, the balcony scene from Romeo and Juliet and whatever my English Lit. class has covered in Hamlet, I can’t say how much the film was based on the play. However, I plan to remedy that in the future.

I figured it watching it was worth a shot. My experience with modern remakes of Shakespeare is pretty good. (She’s the Man with Amanda Bynes comes to mind.) Suffice to say, I enjoyed the movie because not only did it distract me for an hour and a half, but Kat totally inspired me to be a shrew er, I mean to be a kind of person who does not follow the crowd. One who expresses what they think is right. One who does what they want despite it being uncool.

Of course, it does help that at the very beginning of the movie, Joan Jett’s ‘Bad Reputation’ was blasting from her car stereo. \m/ And my favourite quote from the entire movie is when Patrick says “Who needs affection when I have blind hatred?” to Kat.

And Kat’s sonnet, which is what the title of the film is all about:

I hate the way you talk to me, and the way you cut your hair. I hate the way you drive my car. I hate it when you stare. I hate your big dumb combat boots, and the way you read my mind. I hate you so much it makes me sick; it even makes me rhyme. I hate it, I hate the way you’re always right. I hate it when you lie. I hate it when you make me laugh, even worse when you make me cry. I hate it when you’re not around, and the fact that you didn’t call. But mostly I hate the way I don’t hate you. Not even close, not even a little bit, not even at all.

Ohh, isn’t it sweet? Putting up a front and mistaking hatred for love… *sigh*

Random thought: I found it weird seeing Joseph Gordon-Levitt and David Krumholtz so young. I suppose I’m just used to them looking much older…

3 thoughts on “10 Things I Hate About You

  1. Hey – just thought I’d drop by and say thanks for linking to my blog – twas very nice of you. And I’m glad that you liked the movie – it’s one of my favorite “chick” flicks. It’s also one of two films that make me truly, truly miss Heath Ledger – this, because of how darn cute he is in it, and The Dark Knight, because of his mind-blowing acting.

    Anyway, thanks again for stopping by, and linking. I hope that you have a lovely day.

  2. Pingback: Celebrity Crush of the Moment: Ethan Peck | A Green Sky Outside

Care to share your thoughts?

