Me, a Senior? That’s a Foreign Concept

Even though technically, since I’m writing this out during the summer, I’m not a senior. Yes, I’ve graduated from tenth grade and the next step for me is eleventh grade, but that doesn’t mean I can call myself a senior. Well… not yet at least. Just a month more to go!

Garsh, I don’t know if I should be excited or nervous.

On the one hand, I get to see my friends and (though I cringe as I type this) the teachers again. On the other, it’s school. ‘Nuff said, right?

Either way, it’s coming whether I like it or not, so I’m pretty much trying my best to stay positive about this. I mean, my junior year passed by in a flash, so perhaps senior year will be just the same. Albeit, it would be bittersweet. I guess I’m just looking forward to college and living on my own.

Oh, look at me. I’m yammering on and on about being a senior and I don’t even know what it is. Not completely, anyway. So, as always when I’m faced with a problem I could not solve using my intellect, I go to the internet! The Google search engine, to be more precise.

According to Wikipedia:

“High school in the Philippines refers to 4 years of education after 6–7 years of grade school. Children normally enter high school from age 13 or 14 and complete it when they reach age 16 or 17… Classes in the Philippines run from June to March. The levels are usually identified as First, Second, Third and Fourth Year and informally identified by counterpart names in college (i.e. freshman, sophomore, junior and senior).”

According to the Urban Dictionary (and this is the more entertaining meaning):

“A senile old man or woman.”

Wait, that’s not right. Let me try again.

“Seniors are made to destroy any self confidence that freshman may have gained in their past 8 years of schooling. And they do a fantastic job.”

“By far, probably one of the best year out of all four. Pretty exciting, everyone wants to be you, full of great memories.”

Well, I never knew terms such as freshman, sophomore, etc. came form the college counterparts. I thought it was the other way around. Whaddaya know, you learn something everyday! Being a senior sounds fun, and I’m really, really, looking forward to it.

Care to share your thoughts?

