Little Lord Fauntleroy by Frances Hodgson Burnett

The only reason I picked up Little Lord Fauntleroy was because of Burnett. I had no interest in reading it whatsoever before, but as I Stood in the classics aisle of the bookstore, I thought why not? Burnett’s the author of two other stories that I love, them being A Little Princess and The Secret Garden.

It took me a while to get into the book. I read on and off for a few weeks, reading only when I was utterly bored, like when I was at the mall or eating dinner. But one night, I was found myself staring at the book blankly — it was really late at night, I didn’t want to sleep but I didn’t know what to do. I finished the latter half of the book that night, something I’m proud of.

Even though I’m sixteen years old and the book clearly was written for younger readers, I found myself enjoying the story. Fauntleroy reminded me somewhat of Maria Merryweather from The Little White Horse. Like Maria, Fauntleroy changes the status quo; he softens his grandfather’s heart and, in my opinion, makes him a better person. I love Fauntleroy, he’s just so adorable and so good and kind… I wish he was real. Though, if I knew someone who was nice all the time, I’d get annoyed. ^_^

I recommend this book for those people who, like me, loves to read stories set in the past. I’m not quite sure, but I think this book was set in the Victorian era. Fauntleroy is lovable and his mother, affectionately named “Dearest”, is an angel. You would admire the journey his grandfather, the Earl of Dorincourt, goes through, because even though he hasn’t changed drastically, having little Lord Fauntleroy in his life made him see things in a new light.

He had not indeed suddenly become as good as Fauntleroy thought him; but at least he had begun to love something… — and that was a beginning.

One thought on “Little Lord Fauntleroy by Frances Hodgson Burnett

  1. At least the time period that it was set in sounds interesting and I love Frances. I may give it a try but I’d rather read The Little White horse first :D Thanks for the review!

Care to share your thoughts?

